Text size

SCLÉIP! 2007: Encouraging Young Gaelic Talent

April 24, 2007

GAELSCOILEANNA TEO. is delighted to announce Gael-Choláiste Chill Dara as the overall winners of Scléip! 2007, (the national talent competition for Irish-medium post-primary schools). The post-primary school from Kildare won with their extremely enlightening play, Bruscar (Rubbish) on the theme of waste and recycling at the finals which took place on Saturday, 21st April in the Dean Crowe Theatre, Athlone, Co. Westmeath.


Twelve Irish-medium post-primary schools with up to 70 acts took part in the four provincial rounds of this competition during March and April of this year and ten of these schools had acts that reached the final.


This is the second year of the competition, organised by GAELSCOILEANNA TEO. and this year the aim was to increase cooperation with other organisations and also showing participants the continuity of Irish-medium education through to third level.

To this end, every provincial heat was organised in conjunction with a local group or organisation. The Ulster heat was organised in conjunction with Comhairle na Gaelscolaíochta (The Council for Irish-medium education in the north), the Connaught heat with Comharchumann Chorr na Móna, the Munster heat in conjunction with Aonad na Gaeilge, University of Limerick, and the Leinster heat in conjunction with Fiontar in DCU.


This year’s competition saw an increase of two categories to seven:

Pop/Rock music, individual singer/musician, traditional groups, creative dance (individual), creative dance (groups), on-stage show and miscellaneous. Méabh Ní Fhallúin, Raidió na Life; Daracha Nic Philibín, Musician; Éimear Nic Eanraí, Writer and Director were the Adjudicators.


A design competition was organised in conjunction with N.C.A.D. to commission an artist to design and make a trophy and 10 plaques for the competition, in which Robert Ballagh was our guest judge. A design by Annika Berglund, a Swedish artist, of an electric guitar made of porcelain and silver strings on a Birr wood stand was the winning design. 10 similarly designed plaques were made to complement the main piece and were given to each of the category winners. Three extra plaques were given to those who showed exceptional ability and promise but that didn’t win in their category.


Below is a list of the schools that won prizes:


Competition Winners

Bruscar (Rubbish), Gael-choláiste Chill Dara, Co. Kildare: Main competition prize, newly designed Scléip! Trophy.

Tuarmhicasóir, Coláiste Muire, Co. Mayo: Category A, Pop / Rock Music.

Tadhg Maher, Gaelcholáiste Reachrann, Co. Dublin: Category B, Ceol Aonair.

Ceoltóirí Gaelcholáiste Reachrann, Gaelcholáiste Reachrann, Co. Dublin: Category C, Music Groups (Traditional).

Sorcha Ní Mhuircheartaigh, Gaelcholáiste Choilm, Co. Cork: Category D, Creative Dance (Individual).

Na Síofraigh, Gaelcholáiste Cheatharlach, Co, Carlow: Category E, Creative Dance (Groups).

Bruscar (Rubbish), Gael-choláiste Chill Dara, Co. Kildare: Category F, On-Stage Show.

Mím Choilm (Colm’s Mime), Gaelcholáiste Choilm, Co. Cork: Category G, Miscellaneous.


Special Prize Winners

Cathy Ní Néill, Coláiste Íosagáin, Co. Dublin: Category B, Individual Musician.

Na Seacht bPeacaí Marfacha (The Seven Deadly Sins), Coláiste Feirste, Belfast, Co. Antrim: Category F, On-Stage Show.

Na Cailíní ag Canadh (The Singing Girls), Coláiste Chnoic na Labhrás, Co. Limerick: Category G, Miscellaneous.





GAELSCOILEANNA TEO. is the national co-ordinating body for schools teaching through the medium of Irish. It helps parents and local groups to set up new schools and supports the established all-Irish schools. There are 163 primary schools and 38 secondary schools currently providing education through the medium of Irish.


Further information: Seán Ó hAdhmaill (087) 689 5612.


Scléip! 2007 Final

April 18, 2007

Congratulations to all the winners of the various regional heats for getting this far in our national talent competition, Scléip! 2007.


Date: Saturday, 21 April 2007.

Am: 10.00am. – 6.00pm.

Venue: Dean Crowe Theatre, Athlone, Co. Westmeath.

Below is the latest draft timetable for the final. Subject to change.



Scléip 2007 Final


Category A – Pop / Rock Music

10.00am: Réalta Dhaithí (Gaelcholáiste Luimnigh), (max 8 minutes)
10.15am: Tuarmhicasóir (Coláiste Muire), (max 8 minutes)
10.30am: Punc! (Gaelcholáiste Cheatharlach), (max 8 minutes)
10.45am: Aiseolas óna Moltóirí.


Category B – Individual Music
11.00am: Loinnir Ní Dhonghaile (Coláiste Feirste), (max 8 minutes)
11.10am: Cathy Ní Néill (Coláiste Íosagáin), (max 8 minutes)
11.20am: Clíodhna Nic Bhranair (Coláiste Feirste), (max 8 minutes)
11.30am: Caoimhe de Bhillis (Gaelcholáiste Chiarraí), (max 8 minutes)
11.40am: Tadhg Maher (Gaelcholáiste Reachrann), (max 8 minutes)
11.50am: Fiona Ní Chonaill (Coláiste Chnoc na Labhráis), (max 8 minutes)
12.00pm Aiseolas óna Moltóirí


Category C – Music Groups
12.10pm: Ceoltóirí Cois Locha (Coláiste Muire), (max 8 minutes)
12.20pm: Ceoltóirí Feirste (Coláiste Feirste), (max 8 minutes)
12.30pm: Gaelcholáiste Reachrann (Gaelcholáiste Reachrann), (max 8 minutes)
12.40pm: Draíocht (Coláiste Chnoc na Labhráis), (max 8 minutes)
12.50pm: Aiseolas óna Moltóirí, (max 8 minutes)


Lunch 1.00i.n. – 2.00i.n.


Category D – Creative Dance (Individual)

1. 2.00pm: Caitríona Nic Réamoinn (Gaelcholáiste Chill Dara) (max 8 minutes)

2. 2.10pm: Sorcha Ní Mhuircheartaigh (Gaelcholáiste Choilm ) (max 8 minutes)

3. 2.20pm: Aiseolas ó na Moltóirí.


Category E – Creative Dance (Group)
2.30pm: Rinceoirí Choilm (Gaelcholáiste Choilm) (max 8 minutes)
2.40pm: Na Síofraigh (Gaelcholáiste Cheatharlach) (max 8 minutes)
2.50pm: Rinceoirí Thuar Mhic Éadaigh (Coláiste Muire) (max 8 minutes)
3.00pm: Aiseolas ó na Moltóirí.


Category F – On-Stage Production
3.15pm: Na Seacht bPeacaí Marfacha (Coláiste Feirste), (max 15 minutes)
3.30pm: Aisteoirí Choilm (Gaelcholáiste Choilm), (max 15 minutes)
3.45pm: Bruscar (Gaelcholáiste Chill Dara), (max 15 minutes)
4.00pm: Aiseolas ó na Moltóirí.

Category G – Miscellaneous

1. 4.15pm: Aoife Ní Chaiside (Coláiste Feirste), (max 15 minutes)

2. 4.30pm: Mím Choilm (Gaelcholáiste Choilm), (max 15 minutes)

3. 4.45pm: Na Cailíní ag Canadh (Coláiste Chnoc na Labhráis), (max 15 minutes)

4. 5.00pm: Aiseolas ó na Moltóirí.


5.15pm: Announcement of overall winner.

Strategic Plan 2007-2009

April 4, 2007

In January 2007 our consultation process for the Draft Strategic Plan 2007-2009 completed.
We would like to thank all those who made submissions and who gave valuable feedback.
A reviewed Strategic Plan will be published soon.
Below is the original Draft Strategic Plan 2007-2009 (available currently only in Irish).

GAELSCOILEANNA TEO. Draft Strategic Plan 2007-2009.